Skip to content

Yoga

July 20, 2011

Last month, I started practicing yoga.  It started with a Groupon.  I bought the Groupon and figured I would try out the yoga for a month and see how much I like it and if it helps me lose weight, which I have been trying to do for years now, to no avail. Mostly this is due to lack of motivation, which I think I am finally overcoming.  But that’s a different post.

Last night, as I was driving home after class, I was experiencing such a heady rush of my senses that it occurred to me that it may not be safe for me to be driving – I felt almost drunk. And this isn’t the first time I have felt this way after class.  I’m not sure if it’s the grinding pain of twisting and pulling my resistant body for the first hour and fifteen sweaty minutes or the final ten minutes of deep breathing and restive meditation, or a combination of the two, but something about yoga that really get me high.

Now, I’m not very “good” at yoga.  I’m fairly certain that I’m not supposed to be watching and judging myself, but as a self-centered and egotistic individual I find it nearly impossible to NOT attempt to compare myself to others in my classes.  Which actually leads to disappointment because inevitably I am the “worst” person there.  Unless there’s an old guy in the class, then usually he sucks more.

And how, exactly, do I fit in with these yogis?

 There are the yoga naturalists, who are all transcendent and spiritual – I’m definitely not one of them .

 There are the trendy yoga nazis, who can twist into pretzels and have long, thin ripped bodies* – don’t fit into that group either (but maybe one day?) *see previous link above to read about “yoga butt.”

Then there are the old people who just need to get in a little stretching (they are mostly at the “gentle” classes which I attend 2x a week) – I don’t really fit in there either since I’m about 20 to 30 years younger than most of them and in better shape.  I guess I’m sort of between groups right now…

I began yoga hoping for a toned body, but I’m already reaping the benefits of a more relaxed mind.  I attribute it to the fact that I am struggling so much to stand up straight, tuck in my tail-bone, drop my shoulders, pick up my chin,  lift my pelvis, and BREATHE that I can’t even begin to think of anything else on the planet – thus all my petty troubles fall by the wayside.

So for now, I may be clumsy, inflexible, flabby and weak, but at least I’m relaxed, sweaty, and can occasionally tap into the high of nirvana!

One Comment leave one →
  1. The Picky Nibbler permalink
    July 20, 2011 3:19 PM

    Bring on the yoga butt!!!!!!!

Leave a comment